Shutter Island

Another great movie from Martin Scorsese….

Shutter Island

Ever since I saw the trailer for this film I was intrigued.  I had planned from that day forth to see it as soon as it came out.   Well the film came to theaters and then it went without me ever bothering to go see it.  So I did something even better; I got a copy of the book and absolutely loved it.  The only downside I can say about the book is that I was able to figure out what the twist was (for the most part) a little past the half way part (a problem that I believe the movie probably didn’t have, although having known the story it’s kind of hard to tell.)  But even having the ending figured I absolutely enjoyed the read.

After reading it I was still dying to see the movie, although I was a little worried that I might have ruined the movie seeing as there are very few movies out there that come anywhere close to doing the books justice.  Luckily this was not the case.

So tonight I sat down and rented Shutter Island.  I’m at a slight disadvantage at telling you about this movie seeing as I read the book because it means I wasn’t coming into this blind as I’m going to assume most people will.  It’s also going to be hard to tell you what it was I liked about this movie without giving the story away but I promise to try my best.

First off I have to say that the movie IS the book.  There are only maybe two scenes I can think of that were in the book that aren’t in the movie but it doesn’t matter because neither scene was a necessary or even an integral part of the story.  The movie is literally the best adaptation I can imagine this book receiving.  The only thing I think it lacked was the warden.  He was in it but I remember him being a lot more vulgar and intimidating in the book than he is in the movie.  It also didn’t help that the warden is played by Ted Levine, who does a good job, but after watching the show Monk, I have a hard time seeing him without a mustache.

Speaking of acting Leonardo DiCaprio does another amazing job, especially in a lot of his more subtle facial expression and things that will probably be hard to catch on your first watch through.  But that’s one of the great things about watching this film if you do know the story, there are so many things thrown into it in the way of facial expression, cinematography, and things that are and aren’t in certain scenes that really make you enjoy the attention put into it.  I strongly suggest reading the book first or at least watching it twice.  I was very surprised and just how enjoyable it was catching all the little things.

Well there is a lot more I could say about this film and perhaps I will later but for now I will stop for I am getting tired and I’m afraid I will give too much away if I speak more of the film.  In fact I’m so tired I’m going to post this without any proofreading or editing.  It is my first review type post and it’s going to take me a while to refine and improve on this sort of thing anyway so for now you get the full rough draft.

Hope you all enjoyed and if you haven’t yet see/read/both Shutter Island.  You will not be disappointed.

Dylan

~ by Dylan on July 14, 2010.

5 Responses to “Shutter Island”

  1. I liked your review, you can be the next what’s their names! So I can go straight to the movie huh? I love to read, but I only have time for school reading 😦

    • Absolutely, although I would at least suggest watching it twice. However the book is worth reading as well and really isn’t all that long, not to mention that there is (or was at least) a free version of it for Kindle.

  2. One little tid bit…I know, I’m annoying…You should give a little bit of background to the story..just a bit though. From what you have told us, I am intrigued to see the comparison of a movie and a book. I know I can look on my own, but I would like to read YOUR description.

    • Good pony, US Marshall Ted Daniels (Leonardo DiCaprio) is sent with his partner (Mark Ruffio (?) To shutter island, a maximum security hospital for the criminally insane to investigate the disappearance of a patient but all might not be as cut and dry as it seems…..

Leave a Reply

 
