First Post, Why I’m posting, and fucking smoking!

So, here it is, my very first blog!  (Waiting for thunderous applause to end…)

     So I’ve been thinking about doing a blog for a loooong time now (hence the name of this blog) and whether it be because I couldn’t think of a topic or just plain laziness I haven’t.  But I’ve been sitting around tonight, convincing a friend of my that she really needs to write a blog about the vacation she’s on so I finally said fuck it, I need to do this myself.  Of course it’s late as all hell and I have to be up early for work so I do not plan on making this a long one, just a few thoughts.

     I suppose I should explain my reasonings for wanting to do this.  I like to write.  I don’t nearly do it as much as I should but it does happen every once in a while in rather short bursts.  It’s the short burst part that I want to change, I figure if I attempt this blog thing then maybe, just maybe, I’ll start writing more often.  Now granted most of what I write is fiction, but I figure any writing exercise is a good exercise.
  My second reasoning is that I have a horrible problem with never thinking my writing is good enough.  It’s a very rare opportunity for me to see my writing through others eyes because I just don’t let many people read what I write.  Those that do tend to like it, but it doesn’t stop me from thinking the next item I spew out of my fingers into my computer isn’t just another lump of crap.  That being said, I figure if I force my random thoughts out onto the web for all to see I should (hopefully) become more comfortable to putting my other writings out there for criticism, good or bad.

   The next little bit is about smoking.
   I’ve been smoking for about thirteen years now and I think it’s about time I quit.  Health concerns are always there but my big motivator this time is finances.  I would really like to get myself a laptop but my finances are pretty well fucked.  However, if you take into consideration the enormous amount of money I spend on cigs I wouldn’t be anywhere close to being burdened financially if I quit (unless that money then went into food like the last few times I tried to quit.)
    So, I decided that Saturday I would quit.  It would give me the weekend away from work to just relax and so Friday night was my last cigarette.
    That is until Saturday night.  I went crazy all day and was doing great until I opened that first beer.  As any smoker will tell you, you can’t have beer without a cigarette, it’s just unnatural.  So I had a few Saturday night and told my self Sunday would be different.
    So Sunday rolls around and it is different, until I get a call from a certain someone who can rattle on a little too long when I have no urge to even pay attention to what they are saying and I light up again.
   On the bright side I guess I could say I’ve gone from a pack a day to a pack every two days.

   In closing, I sit here now, enjoying my last cigarette, telling myself I will go through the pains of withdraw once again tomorrow and, just like Saturday and Sunday, tomorrow will be the day it happens.  Will it really? Guess we will find out, although if my history with blogging is any tell you might not hear about it for a few years.

Goodnight and Good Reading,
Dylan

~ by Dylan on March 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
